Professor Beach named 2020 APS Fellow

Professor Beach was named an APS Fellow this year for pioneering contributions to the understanding of chiral exchange interactions, spin-orbit torques, domain wall and skyrmion dynamics in magnetic thin film materials, heterostructures and nanostructures. He was nominated by the Division of Materials Physics.

Pooja selected as a Paul & Daisy Soros Fellows

Congratulations to Pooja Reddy on being selected by The Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans. See her profile on the Fellowship website and her shoutout in the MIT News.

Mantao’s Thesis Defense

Congratulations to Mantao on a successful thesis defense on “Voltage control of electrical, optical and magnetic properties of materials by solid state ionic transport and electrochemical reactions”!!!

Goodbye Felix

Felix leaves the group this month to start at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (HZB) where he’s been hired as a group leader. Congrats Felix!

New website

For the Spring 2020 we have created a new website. Check out our updated research page.

New graduate students

We welcome Eliza, Alex and Byunghun to the group.