Principal Investigator

Professor Geoffrey S. D. Beach

Before coming to MIT, Professor Geoffrey Beach worked in UCSD’s Center for Magnetic Recording Research and later went on to the University of Texas at Austin as a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of Physics and the Texas Materials Institute. His group focuses on spin dynamics and “spin-electronics” in nanoscale magnetic materials and devices.

Email: gbeach “at”

Postdoctoral Researchers

Michael Kitcher

Bio soon to come!

Email: mkitcher “at”

Graduate Students

Siying Huang

Siying received her B.S. in Physics from Fudan University in 2018. She joined the Beach group in the Fall of 2018. She is currently interested in domain wall motion in magnetic thin films and DMI in garnet systems.

Email: shuang96 “at”

Muhammad Usama Hasan

Usama received his B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Materials and Metallurgical Engineering from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology in 2015 and 2018 respectively. He started his PhD program at MIT in the Fall of 2018 and joined the Beach group in April 2019. He has previously worked on multiferroic materials and is currently interested in investigating voltage gated devices utilizing ion movement as well as nanoscale energy storage.

Email: usama “at”

Elizaveta Tremsina

Liza is a student in EECS, she joined the Beach group in the Fall of 2019. She received her B.A. in Physics, Computer Science and Applied Mathematics from UC Berkeley in 2019. She is currently interested in combining simulation and measurement to study spin transport phenomena.

Email: etrem “at”

Alex Kossak

Alex joined the Beach Group in the Fall of 2019 after studying at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research in Stuttgart, Germany on a Fulbright Fellowship. He earned a B.A. and M.A. in Chemistry and a M.S.E. in Materials Science from Johns Hopkins University. He is interested in investigating materials for next generation magnetic memory.

Email: akossak “at”

Byunghun Lee

Byunghun received his B. S. in Material Science and Engineering from Yonsei University in 2019. He joined the Beach group in the Fall of 2019, and is currently interested in spin-wave dynamics and magnonic devices.

Email: byunghun “at”

Allison Kaczmarek

Allison joined the group in Fall 2020 after receiving her B.S. degrees in Materials Science and Engineering & Chemistry at Clemson University, SC. Her interest is in understanding magnetism in garnet thin films, and she is currently coadvised under Professor Beach and Professor Caroline Ross.

Email: kacz “at”

Cassie (Yixuan) Song

Cassie (Yixuan) received her MEng in Materials Science from the University of Oxford in 2021. She joined the Beach group in the Spring of 2022. She is coadvised by Professor Beach and Professor Caroline Ross. She is currently working on spintronic THz signal generation in garnet systems.

Email: yixuans “at”

Undergraduate Students

Maxwell Mlewa

Maxwell is a candidate for BSc. In EECS at MIT class of 2026. He joined the Beach Group in the Fall of 2022, and he is currently interested in investigating magneto-optic effects and their applications in studying the magnetic properties of materials.

Email: maxmlewa “at”

Visiting Researchers


Maarten A. Brems | mabrems “at”
Sara Sheffels | ssheff “at”
Daniel Suzuki | dhsuzuki “at”
Alexandra Churikova | sashac “at”
Mantao Huang | mantao “at”
Angela Wittmann | angelawi “at”
Kai Litzius | litzius “at”
Norman Birge | birge “at”
Pooja Reddy | pdreddy “at”
Felix Büttner | fbuettne “at”
Jonas Zehner | j.zehner “at”
Maarten Peters | maartenp “at”
Lucas Caretta | caretta “at”
Jason Bartell | jbartell “at”
Ivan Lemesh | lemesh “at”
Aik Jun Tan | atan10 “at”
Can Onur Avci | canonuravci “at”
Max Mann | m4xmann “at”
Sarah Schlotter | schlotts “at”
Kohei Ueda | kubond “at”
Parnika Agrawal | parnika “at”
Min ae Ouk | minaeouk “at”
Chi-Feng Pai | cfpai “at”
Seonghoon Woo | shwoo “at”
Uwe Bauer | ubauer “at”
Elizabeth Rapoport | elizrap “at”
Satoru Emori | satorue “at”
Sung-Min Ahn | smahn “at”
Nicholas Whiteway | whiteway “at”
Elie Nadal | enadal “at”
CK Umachi | cku313 “at”
Tristan Delaney | tristand “at”
Dan Montana | dmontana “at”
Jonathan Fischer | joni “at”
Helia Jalili | helia “at”
Stephen Salinas | ssalinas “at”
Greg Steinbrecher | gstein “at”